

# FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

# **BRIDGEPORT CITY LICENSE**

# Q. Who is required to be licensed?

A. Any person or entity conducting business within City limits for the purpose of income is considered a business. Bridgeport City Code requires all businesses to hold a City license. There are some exemptions for non-profit, religious, and educational organizations. You must provide us with a copy of the Federal exemption letter.

If the following three criteria are met, business is exempt from State registration and therefore, would be exempt from City. If a business meets all criteria, please contact the Tax & License Department and the exemption form will be sent for you to complete and sign.

- 1. Is not required by law to collect any tax or withhold any tax; and
- 2. Does not claim exemption from payment of the West Virginia Consumer Sales and Service Tax or Use Tax: and
- 3. Had a gross income from business activity of \$4,000.00 dollars or less from operations in ALL states during the income tax year most recently completed is also not required to obtain a Business Registration Certificate.

# Q. How do I obtain a City license?

**A.** In order for a business to obtain a City license, they must be first registered with the WV State Tax Department.

"Before engaging in business activity in West Virginia, every individual or business entity must obtain a West Virginia business registration certificate from the State Tax Department.

Business activity is broadly defined to include all purposeful revenue-generating activity engaged in or caused to be engaged in with the object of gain or economic benefit, either direct or indirect, and all activities of this state and its political subdivisions which involve the sale of tangible personal property or the rendering of service when such service activities compete with or may compete with the activities of another person."

You can either register your business online at: <a href="https://mytaxes.wvtax.gov/">https://mytaxes.wvtax.gov/</a>/ or you may contact the local office at 304/627-2109. If you register online, it will probably take a couple of weeks for you to receive a copy of your registration (they don't email them). If you go to the local office, they will help you with the paperwork, take your payment and you should receive a copy of your registration the same day.

Once the business is registered with the WV State Tax Department, you will need to complete the Bridgeport Municipal Registration form. Depending on the nature of your business, there may be other forms you need to complete or provide.

The forms can either be emailed and pay over the phone with debit/credit card (\$16.50 there is a service fee for using a card), mailed by USPS along with check (\$15.00), or you may bring the required documents to City Hall and pay with cash/check (\$15.00).

## Q. What are the requirements for Contractor/Handyman license.

**A.** Contractors must hold a valid WV Contractors license and may only do work based on their licensure. You will need to provide a copy of the license along with the Municipal Registration form and WV State Tax Department Registration.

Handyman may only perform work that is less than \$5,000/residential and \$25,000/commercial including labor and materials. You must still complete the Municipal Registration Form, a Handyman Affidavit, provide a copy of your driver's license, and a copy of your WV State Tax Department Registration.

## Q. What happens if I have been working without a license or let my license expire?

**A.** City Code 717.14(d)

Any person engaging in or prosecuting a business contrary to the provisions of this section ... be liable for a penalty of fifty dollars (\$50.00) for each month or fraction thereof during which he has been in default of the Bridgeport Municipal Registration Tax.

#### Q. What is the effective date of the License?

**A.** Bridgeport Licenses run concurrent with fiscal year, July 1 through June 30.

# Q. Does the City prorate license fee?

**A.** The City does not prorate the basic Municipal Registration Fee. There are some exceptions for businesses that have obtained a WV State ABC license.

# Q. What is the license fee?

**A.** Standard license fee is \$15.00. There are additional charges for businesses that hold a WV State ABC license.

# Q. My business does not have a physical location in Bridgeport. Do I need a license?

**A.** The answer is possibly yes depending on your business.

Contractor/service company working on a project located within City limits. You live out-of-state but have rental property located within City limits. Out-of-state company with equipment that is leased in City limits. Company is located in Bridgeport and conducting business outside of City.

Caveats – Not required to be licensed or pay taxes if;

Your business is located in another WV municipality, you are licensed and pay all B&O taxes to that municipality.

Retail company located outside of the City, selling in City limits, but products are shipped by common carrier.

# Q. I have a WV State Tax Department Business Registration. Do I also need a City license?

**A.** Yes. The State registration only pertains to the State. You will still need to register with Bridgeport and pay respective B&O taxes.

#### For additional clarifications, please contact us.

Becky Deem, Tax & License Manager (304) 842-8253 rdeem@bridgeportwv.gov

Tonya McKinney, Tax & License Clerk (304) 842-8230 tmckinney@bridgeportwv.gov